Does msmac3D/medit3D work with Windows 10?

General Questions, answers and information related to the release of the msmac3D program.
Post Reply
MSI
Site Admin
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:37 pm

Does msmac3D/medit3D work with Windows 10?

Post by MSI » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:47 am

Q: Does msmac3D/medit3D work with Windows 10?
A: YES!

With the recent roll out of the free upgrade from Win 7/8.1 to Win 10, we finally got around to upgrading one of our test machines to Win 10.
  • We chose to use the Media creation tool for the upgrade since after a couple hours of 'waiting' for our reservation for the upgrade to Win 10 (which we believe is merely a background download of the upgrade), we decided to try the Media creation tool route instead to downloaded the installation. The Win 10 upgrade downloaded in around 30 minutes via the media creation tool route.
The upgrade took a couple hours and then we tested a full installation of medit3D/msmac3D and everything works fine!
We will continue our testing over the next few days however it appears the Win 10 upgrade is a painless upgrade which includes all required components.
Question? Comment? Please email forum@mchenrysoftware.com. Also see the McHenry Forum Index
Visit McHenrySoftware.com for technical information & software.
(c) McHenry Software, Inc ALL Rights Reserved.

MSI
Site Admin
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:37 pm

Re: Does msmac3D/medit3D work with Windows 10?

Post by MSI » Thu Aug 06, 2015 1:50 pm

We have run into one minor issue with Win 10 we post up FYI:
Summary: A custom color dialog isn't working properly, however since it is a second layer item we don't expect many users will encounter this issue.
  • Details: For msmac3D graphics, if you'd like to change the color of the vehicles you simply click on the vehicle to bring up a color change selector:
    • veh color.png
      veh color.png (2.46 KiB) Viewed 1329 times
    The dialog lists the 3 top colors used for you to select and then change.
    Selecting a color to change you bring up the color selector dialog
    • color selector1.png
      color selector1.png (5.77 KiB) Viewed 1329 times
    if you pick a color already in use it give this message
    • color in use.png
      color in use.png (3.88 KiB) Viewed 1329 times
    if so, you can simply define a custom color by clicking the 'Define Custom Colors >>'button
    which brings up the custom color dialog
    custom colors.png
    custom colors.png (13.03 KiB) Viewed 1329 times
    .
In Win 10 the color/solid display color does not change as you click in the color area
A work around for now is for Win 10 users to select a color from the Basic Color Grid
  • basic color grid.png
    basic color grid.png (2.07 KiB) Viewed 1329 times
we expect to resolve in an update
Question? Comment? Please email forum@mchenrysoftware.com. Also see the McHenry Forum Index
Visit McHenrySoftware.com for technical information & software.
(c) McHenry Software, Inc ALL Rights Reserved.

MSI
Site Admin
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:37 pm

Re: Does msmac3D/medit3D work with Windows 10?

Post by MSI » Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:29 pm

Just a note that the issue does seem to occur on all msmac3D projects on Win 10.
in process of further investigation.
Question? Comment? Please email forum@mchenrysoftware.com. Also see the McHenry Forum Index
Visit McHenrySoftware.com for technical information & software.
(c) McHenry Software, Inc ALL Rights Reserved.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest